Vegan cheese
![](../I/m/Vegan_cheese_gnocchi%2C_July_2015.jpg)
Gnocchi made with vegan cheese
Vegan cheese is a non-dairy or plant cheese analogue aimed at vegans and others who want to avoid animal products, including those who are lactose-intolerant.[1] As with plant milk, vegan cheese can be made of soybeans, rice, almonds and other nuts, and nutritional yeast.
Vegan cheese is cholesterol-free and may be a good source of soy protein. Several brands melt in the way dairy cheese does. Popular brands include Biocheese, Cheezly, Daiya, Teese and Tofutti.
References
- ↑ Dixie Mahy, Miyoko Schinner, Artisan Vegan Cheese, Book Publishing Company, 2013, p. v.
|
|
This article is issued from Wikipedia - version of the Monday, March 14, 2016. The text is available under the Creative Commons Attribution/Share Alike but additional terms may apply for the media files.